Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subjects: Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Technology (HVAC)
, Business Administration
, Citation & Formatting Styles
, Fair Use
, Information Literacy
, Library and Information Science
, Office Systems Technology
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) promotes the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources. We believe that these practices will promote equitable access to education particularly for underserved students while supporting academic freedom and faculty choice of openly licensed curriculum materials. Our membership includes hundreds of colleges across North America. CCCOER is part of Open Education Global.
An American non-profit organization devoted to expanding the range of creative works available for others to build upon legally and to share. The organization has released several copyright-licenses, known as Creative Commons licenses, free of charge to the public.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focussing on improving the quality of applications submitted.
Learning Framework: Effective Strategies for College Success
This free digital textbook serves as a companion to EDUC 1300/1200/1100 Learning Framework: Effective Strategies for College Success at Austin Community College This book is an accessible and relevant way to explore the research and theory in the psychology of learning, cognition, and motivation as well as factors that impact learning, and the presentation of specific learning strategies.
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
OER in Texas Collections and Tools - Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
OERTX Repository is a public digital library of open educational resources for higher education. Search collections or create and collaborate to improve instruction.
OER Knowledge Cloud
A curated database and repository. The Cloud data includes searchable records of journal articles (eg. papers in periodicals), reports (eg. from government or industry), books or other items in any medium. By providing free access to research initiatives, data and other information on all aspects of open educational resources, the OER Knowledge Cloud enhances research opportunities and access to knowledge, removing barriers, opening up scholarship and making research universally accessible.
Open Education Global
Part of the Community College Consortium of Open Educational Resources (CCCOER), Open Education Global is a member-based, global, non-profit supporting the development and use of open education around the world to expand access of education to every person.
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 766 textbooks, with more being added all the time. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and Open Textbook Network. Make a difference in your students' lives with free, openly-licensed textbooks.
Textbooks every student can access and afford.
SkillsCommons is a free and open online library containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The Open Educational Resources (OER) are produced by community colleges across the nation and can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by individuals, institutions, and industry.
Features an extensive collection of OERs in a repository. Starlink is a key resource for all those who work in higher education, known for its professional development and training.
Texas Learn OER (DigiTex)
Austin Community College head librarian Carrie Gits created this OER course in summer 2020. She created a set of ten peer-reviewed, openly licensed, self-paced modules for faculty, staff, and administrators. The work is adapted from the modules she created for her institution as her capstone project during her participation in the prestigious SPARC Open Education Leadership Program. Texas Learn OER includes information on understanding OER; open licensing, including Creative Commons; finding and evaluating OER; accessibility; adapting, creating, and sharing OER; and OER policy and practice in Texas. Feedback is welcomed on the modules for continuous improvement.
OER Creation and Adoption
Open educational resources (OERs) and open textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded at no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Keep in mind the 5 Rs:
Retain – Keep what you like, under your intellectual control
Reuse – Use content in any context as desired
Revise – Personalize and adapt content to individual courses
Remix – Combine content to make something new
Redistribute – Share your compilations to enhance OER offerings