It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database that includes thousands of full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals. No matter your subject, your searches will likely find applicable articles. In addition to full text, the database offers indexing and abstracts for tens of thousands of journals, provides access to most articles in fully searchable PDF format, and cited references for thousands of journals.
Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, various magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting research, all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights.
An exceptional, curriculum focused, streaming video resource for the educational environment. Students can use it to find inspiration and material for research papers and presentations. Faculty can use it to stimulate and reinforce in-class lectures, introduce new topics, and encourage open discussion on key issues and topics. Midland College currently provides access to FOD's History and Technical and Trade collections.
SirsiDynix's modern catalog provides cross platform access, direct connections and finding aides to EBSCO Discovery Service, physical materials such as books, CloudSource OA, Gale databases and many other resources. Thoughtful and prudent researchers will employ this tool early in the research process. Users can access Speedy Search on smart phones, tablets, laptops and desktops.
Interlibrary Loan: No
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A comprehensive video platform delivering tens of thousands of streaming films spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, literature and music. Curated for the educational experience, the significant depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes it a useful resource for your research and study needs.
This collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions assists singers and teachers in the intelligent and well informed performance of vocal literature. It helps promote comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in order for the singer to imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Representing works from thousands of composers and poets, subscribers can easily find the repertoire they need. With IPA Source, educators and artists can skip the translating and phonetic work and sing with confidence and accuracy.