Speech

A guide to reference content relevant to the subject including starting points, research tips, and links to reference resources and websites.

Getting Started

Speech Top Databases

The following databases are recommended when searching for Speech articles. They have been put in order of relevancy. In other words, start at the top database and work your way down. Generally, you should be able to find everything you need for your Speech assignments within the first few databases!

Click the links below to access them. You may be prompted for your Midland College (MC1) username and password. Your username will be your student ID, followed by @mail.midland.edu. For example: astudent123@mail.midland.edu. Your password will be the same as your MC1 and Canvas passwords. If you have any difficulty accessing or searching the databases, please contact the Library.

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start the research process. Credo Academic Core offers a collection of essential reference works and visual tools that provide a strong foundation for writing and research projects.
Opposing Viewpoints: In Context This link opens in a new window
This resource explores various sides of current and hot topic issues. Informed and differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and come to their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps and infographics.

Physical Books

Refer to the following call numbers for physical books addressing various historical topics.

HD 30: Communication in Management
HD 59: Public Relations
HE 7600: Telecommunications Industry
HF 5700: Business Communication
HF 5800: Advertising
HM: Sociology/ Public Relations/ Public Opinion
P 87 - P 86: Communication/ Mass Media

Mind Map

OER Resources

These databases are a good starting point for finding OER course/research material on Speech.