- Murray Fasken Library
- Research Guides
- Visual Arts
- Visual Arts Resources
Visual Arts
Getting Started
Visual Arts Top Databases
The following databases are recommended when searching for Visual Arts articles. They have been put in order of relevancy. In other words, start at the top database and work your way down. Generally, you should be able to find everything you need for your Visual Arts assignments within the first few databases!
Click the links below to access them. You may be prompted for your Midland College (MC1) username and password. Your username will be your student ID, followed by @mail.midland.edu. For example: astudent123@mail.midland.edu. Your password will be the same as your MC1 and Canvas passwords. If you have any difficulty accessing or searching the databases, please contact the Library.
General Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start the research process. Credo Academic Core offers a collection of essential reference works and visual tools that provide a strong foundation for writing and research projects. - Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
An exceptional, curriculum focused, streaming video resource for the educational environment. Students can use it to find inspiration and material for research papers and presentations. Faculty can use it to stimulate and reinforce in-class lectures, introduce new topics, and encourage open discussion on key issues and topics. Midland College currently provides access to FOD's History and Technical and Trade collections.
Physical Books
Refer to the following call numbers for physical books addressing various historical topics.
- N: Fine Arts
- NA: Architecture
- NB: Sculpture
- NC: Drawing/ Design/ Illustration
- ND: Painting
- NE: Print Media
- NK: Decorative Arts
- NX: Arts in General
