History

A guide to reference content relevant to the subject including starting points, research tips, and links to reference resources and websites.

History Top Databases

The following databases are recommended when searching for English articles. They have been put in order of relevancy. In other words, start at the top database and work your way down. Generally, you should be able to find everything you need for your English assignments within the first few databases!

Click the links below to access them. You may be prompted for your Midland College (MC1) username and password. Your username will be your student ID, followed by @mail.midland.edu. For example: astudent123@mail.midland.edu. Your password will be the same as your MC1 and Canvas passwords. If you have any difficulty accessing or searching the databases, please contact the Library.

General Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start the research process. Credo Academic Core offers a collection of essential reference works and visual tools that provide a strong foundation for writing and research projects.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, various magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting research, all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference materials from industry-leading publishers covering several disciplines
Funk & Wagnalls This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides tens of thousands of encyclopedic entries addressing numerous subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints: In Context This link opens in a new window
This resource explores various sides of current and hot topic issues. Informed and differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and come to their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps and infographics.

Physical Books

Refer to the following call numbers for physical books addressing various historical topics.

C - CT = Auxiliary Sciences of History
D - DX = World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E - F = History of the Americas

Mind Map

OER Resources

These databases are a good starting point for finding OER course/research material on History.